The Religion and Theology program hosts a series of seminars that engage the work in progress of distinguished scholars.

Talks examine ancient, medieval, and modern materials for their contemporary theological and ethical significance. Topics range from Dante’s theology, Kant’s relationship to God, and whether there would be disability in a life after death.

Upcoming seminars

Dr Paul Kollman (University of Notre Dame)
29/30 October 2020 

Time: Melbourne 10am  Friday 30 Oct |  New York 7pm Thursday 29 Oct | London 11pm Thusday 29 Oct |
Title: "If we did not have them, we would need a lot of workers": Slavery and Catholic mission in eastern Africa

Seminar detail

Register here


Recognising Religion(s): The Cultural Dynamics of Religious Encounters and Interactions in Historical Perspective
5 October 2020 (Amended)

Time: Melbourne 3:30am (Tue 6th Oct) | Perth 12:30am (Tues 6th Oct) | Abu Dhabi 20:30 (Mon 5th Oct) | Berlin 18:30 (Mon 5th Oct) | London 17:30 (Mon 5th Oct) | San Francisco 9:30am (Mon 5th Oct)
Title: "Situating World Religions in Modern Islam" with Zvi Ben-Dor Benite NYU) and Esmat Elhalaby (UC Davis), moderated by Taneli Kukkonen (NYU/AD)

Learn more

To Register


Professor Eleonore Stump (Saint Louis University/Australian Catholic University)
17 November 2020

Time: 11:00am-12:30pm Tuesday 17th November (Melbourne) | Tuesday 17 November 12:00am-1:30am (London, UK) | Monday 16 November 6:00-7:30pm (St Louis, USA) 

Title: ‘Life After Death and the True Self’ 

Contact: ReligionTheology.Seminar@acu.edu.au 


Recognising Religion(s): The Cultural Dynamics of Religious Encounters and Interactions in Historical Perspective
30 November 2020

Time: Melbourne 19:00 | Perth 16:00 | Abu Dhabi 12:00 | Berlin 9:00 | New York 3:00
Title: "Forms of Religious Recognition in Early Modern Iberia and the Ottoman Empire" with Tijana Krstić (CEU) & Mercedes García-Arenal (CSIC, Madrid), moderated by Jan Loop (University of Copenhagen)

Learn more

To Register


Past seminars

Chris Insole (Durham University / Australian Catholic University)
4 June 2020

‘Kant and the Divine’ (a Retrospective)

Contact: Benjamin.despain@acu.edu.au


Denys Turner
(Three-part series) 24-26 June 2020

'Dante, Theologian-Poet’
‘Dante, Augustine, and Confession’
‘Dante, Aquinas, and Hell’

Contact: lexi.eikelboom@acu.edu.au /Rachel.davies@acu.edu.au


Professor Lewis Ayres (Durham University/Australian Catholic University)
29 July 2020

‘The Role of the Holy Spirit in the Work of the Theologian’

Learn more


Religion & Theology Seminar Program presents a panel on
Hope in a Secular Age by David Newheiser
24 August 2020

Time: 11pm-12:30am Monday 24th August (Melbourne) / 2:00-3:30pm (London) / 9:00-10:30am (New York)

Contact: ReligionTheology.Seminar@acu.edu.au

Learn more


Sarah Coakley (Australian Catholic University)
17 September 2020

Time: 7:30am Thursday 17th September (Melbourne) / 5:30pm Wednesday 16th September (Washington, USA) / 10:30pm Wednesday 16th September (London, UK) 

Title: "Sensing God"? Retrieving Patristic and Ressourcement Theories of "Spiritual Sensation" for Contemporary Theology and Ethics

Contact: ReligionTheology.seminar@acu.edu.au 

 

Watch select past events

Have a
question?

Ask
Research

Our contacts

Have a question for a specific
team? Ask the right person.

View all contacts