The Biblical and Early Christian Studies program hosts a fortnightly research seminar series which showcases outstanding work in the field and nurtures scholarly conversation with participants from Australia and around the world.

Speakers pre-circulate papers on a wide range of topics ranging from the social scientific study of the New Testament to Late Antique philosophy, which is then discussed during the hour-long online meeting.

Call for papers: New Trajectories in Australian Research on Late Antiquity and Early Christian Studies

The Program in Biblical and Early Christian Studies in ACU’s Institute for Religion and Critical Inquiry is hosting a symposium in Melbourne on 3-5 November 2021 to showcase the cutting-edge research currently being done in Australia in the fields of late antique studies and early Christian studies.

Learn more

2021 Online Research Seminar Series

The BECS seminar will reconvene in semester 1 2021.
Registration for Seminars will be via Zoom.  If you would like to join our mailing list to receive announcements of upcoming seminars, or with any other questions, please email becs.seminar@acu.edu.au. We will continue to meet fortnightly:


Gerhard Van den Heever (University of South Africa
Thursday 26 August 2021

Title: ‘Do Religions, in Fact, Die? And How Do They Die? On the Christianisation of the Late Antique Mediterranean World: Reflections from where We Are.

Time:  5—6pm Melbourne | 8—9am London | 3—4am New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Stephen C. Carlson (Australian Catholic University)
Thursday 9 September 2021

As part of the 2021 Research Workshop Series

Seminars held in Room 4.28, 250 Victoria Pde, East Melbourne followed by lunch in common area

These workshops are open to all. Strict density limits must be adhered to, you must RSVP to attend BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au
Given the uncertainty and ongoing restrictions surrounding interstate travel and in-person gatherings, we may need to change venue or even cancel events on short notice. 

Title: ‘Presbyters in Papias'

Time:  11:00—12:30pm Melbourne (only)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Jens Schröter (Humboldt University of Berlin) 
Thursday 23 September 2021

Title: ‘Why did Christians Write Apocalypses: Reflections on the Developments of a Genre.

Time:  5—6pm Melbourne | 8—9am London | 3—4am New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Majella Franzmann (University of Sydney)
Thursday 7 October 2021

As part of the 2021 Research Workshop Series

Seminars held in Room 4.28, 250 Victoria Pde, East Melbourne followed by lunch in common area

These workshops are open to all. Strict density limits must be adhered to. You must RSVP to attend BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au
Given the uncertainty and ongoing restrictions surrounding interstate travel and in-person gatherings, we may need to change venue or even cancel events on short notice. 

Title: ‘Manichean Communities and Their Liturgy'

Time:  11:00—12:30pm Melbourne (only)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Michael Champion  (Australian Catholic University) 
Thursday 21 October 2021

Title: ‘Emotions and Education in Late Antique Asceticism

Time:  5—6pm Melbourne | 7—8am London | 2—3am New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Janet Spittler (University of Virginia)
Thursday 18 November 2021

Title: ‘The Acts of John by Prochorus: The most Popular Late Antique Text that You've Never Heard Of'

Time:  9—10am (Melbourne) | 17 Nov 10—11pm (London) | 17 Nov 5—6pm (New York)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Han Baltussen (University of Adelaide)
Thursday 2 December

As part of the 2021 Research Workshop Series

Seminars held in Room 4.28, 250 Victoria Pde, East Melbourne followed by lunch in common area

These workshops are open to all. Strict density limits must be adhered to. You must RSVP to attend BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au
Given the uncertainty and ongoing restrictions surrounding interstate travel and in-person gatherings, we may need to change venue or even cancel events on short notice. 

Title: ‘Θεῖος in Eunapius‘ Lives of Philosophers and Sophists.  Notes from a Translator

11:00—12:30pm Melbourne (only)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Emiliano Fiori (Ca' Foscari University of Venice)
Thursday 3 June 2021

Title: ‘A Geological Approach to Syriac Miaphysite Christology (6th—9th Centuries): Detours of a Patristic Florilegium from Antioch to Tagrit

Time:  5—6pm Melbourne | 8—9am London | 3—4am New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Dr Ben Edsall (Australian Catholic University)
Thursday 20 May 2021

Title: 'Reading Gospels and the Space of the Present'

Time: 9—10am Melbourne | 12—1am London | 19 May 7—8pm New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Professor Volker Henning Drecoll (Tubingen University)
Thursday 6 May 2021

Title: 'Simply More Promising: Christianity and Platonism as Concepts of Redemption in Competition'

Time: 5—6pm Melbourne | 8—9am London | 3—4am New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Dr Christine Gerber (Humboldt University Berlin)
Thursday 22 April 2021

Title: 'What Would Paul Have Written? On the Interpretation of Pseudepigraphic Letters'

Time: 4:30—5:30pm Melbourne | 7:30—8:30am London | 2:30—3:30am New York

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Dr Robyn Faith Walsh (University of Miami)
Thursday 8 April 2021

Title: 'Redescribing Early Christian Literature: The Gospels, the Satyrica, and Anonymous Sources'

Time: 9am-10am (Melbourne) | Wednesday 7 April 12-1am (London) | Wednesday 7 April 7pm-8pm (New York)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Professor Jennifer Knust (Duke University)
Thursday 25 March 2021

Title: 'From Bethany to Bethabara and Back Again'

Time: 9am-10am (Melbourne) | Wednesday 24 March 10pm-11pm (London) | Wednesday 24 March 5pm-6pm (New York)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Georgia Frank
(Charles A. Dana Professor of Religion Colgate University, University Society for the Humanities)
Thursday 11 March 2021

Title: 'Crafting the Unfinished Christian: The Baptistery as Workshop in Greek Catecheticlal Instructions'

Time: 9am-10am (Melbourne) | (London) Wednesday 10 March 5pm | (New York) Wednesday 10 March 5pm-6pm 

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Angela Kim Harkins 
Associate Professor of New Testament, Professora Ordinaria, Boston College
Thursday 25 February 2021

Title: 'Seeing through the Eyes of Hermas'

Time: 9am-10am (Melbourne) | (London) Wednesday 24 February 10pm-11pm | (New York) Wednesday 24 February 5pm-6pm 

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Mark Vessey
Department of English Language and Literatures, University of British Columbia; Principal, Green College
Thursday 11 February 2021

Title: Latin Literature and the Church in the Post-Constantinian Empire, to ca.397.

Time: 9am-10am (Melbourne) | Wednesday 10 February 10pm-11pm (London) | Wednesday 10 February 5pm-6pm (New York)

Contact: BECS.seminar@acu.edu.au


Past BECS Research Seminar Series

BECS online seminar series 2021 semester 2

BECS online seminar series 2021 semester 1

BECS online seminar series 2020 semester 2

BECS online seminar series 2020 semester 1

BECS seminar series 2019 semester 2

BECS seminar series 2019 semester 1

BECS seminar series 2018 semester 2

CBECS seminar series 2018 semester 1

CBECS seminar series 2017 semester 2

CBECS seminar series 2017 semester 1

CBECS seminar series 2016 semester 2

CBECS seminar series 2016 semester 1

 


Have a
question?

Ask
Research

Our contacts

Have a question for a specific
team? Ask the right person.

View all contacts