Leadership team


Associate Professor David Opar, Centre Director, Injury Program Lead

Associate Professor David Opar is part of ACU's School of Behavioural and Health Sciences and the Director of the SPRINT Research Centre.

With over a decade's experience in the field of exercise, sport and human movement sciences, A/Prof Opar's research focuses on hamstring strain injuries, specifically how best to identify individuals at risk of this injury and how rehabilitation practices can be improved.

A/Prof Opar's most notable career milestones include co-invention of the NordBord, and contribution to the NFL Lower Extremity Soft Tissue Injury Task Force.

View profile

Associate Professor Stuart Cormack, Deputy Director, Performance Program Lead

Associate Professor Stuart Cormack from ACU's School of Behavioural and Health Sciences has a wealth of academic and industry experience to his name.

A/Prof Cormack has published numerous papers in scientific journals and co-authored several book chapters. He regularly presents at conferences and provides consultancy support to various organisations.

A/Prof Cormacks notable career milestones include two grand final appearances and the 2006 Premiership title during his 15 years with the Australian Football League. He was also involved in a variety of elite team and individual sports in preparation for the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games during his time as a strength and conditioning coach at the Australian Institute of Sport.

View profile

Professor Shona Halson, Deputy Director, Recovery Program Lead

Professor Shona Halson from ACU's School of Behavioural and Health Sciences has been a mainstay of Australia's high performance sport network. Her research focuses on recovery, fatigue and sleep and she has been a trusted advisor to countless elite coaches and athletes.

Prof Halson was named as one of Exercise and Sport Science Australia's three Female Leaders in Exercise and Sports Science on International Women's Day 2019.

Prof Halson's notable career milestones include being the Head Recovery Physiologist at the Australian Institute of Sport from 2002 to 2018 and being part of three Olympic campaigns with the national team.

View profile

Sprint members

Andrew Townshend

View profile

Grant Duthie

View profile
Dr Jack Hickey

Jack Hickey

View profile

Jonathon Weakley

View profile

Kassia Beetham

View profile

Nirav Maniar

View profile

Paul Tofari

View profile

Rich Johnston

View profile

Ryan Timmins

View profile

Suzanna Russell

View profile

Yi-Chung Lin

View profile

SPRINT centre manager

Ashleigh Homer.

Ashleigh Homer

View profile

Have a


Our contacts

Have a question for a specific
team? Ask the right person.

View all contacts