Prizes and awards by campus

Each year the faculty offers the following prizes and awards:

  • Most Promising Philosophy Essay by a New Undergraduate Student (Brisbane, Melbourne, Strathfield)
  • Best Philosophical Essay in an Advanced Undergraduate Unit (Brisbane, Melbourne, Strathfield)
  • Dominican Prize for Academic Excellence in Theology (Canberra)
  • Kevin Moyle Prize (Canberra)
  • NCLS Research Prize for Outstanding Research in Contemporary Religion (Year 2) (all campuses)
  • NCLS Research Prize for Outstanding Research in Contemporary Religion (Year 3) (all campuses).

Philosophy awards

The following awards are awarded by the School of Philosophy for outstanding work in philosophy. Each award is judged, at year's end, by a panel of three philosophy staff (one each from Melbourne, Strathfield and Brisbane campuses).

Both awards are generously sponsored by The Co-op Bookshop.

Most Promising Essay by a New Student

This prize is awarded to a first year student, who has shown exceptional promise as a beginning student of philosophy.

  • Eligibility: Students must have completed a minimum of two philosophy units in their first year (the applicable year of the prize)
  • Award: The student receives a book voucher to the value of $150.


Thi Bich Tram Do (Strathfield), Mental Content and Language.

Runner ups

  • Joseph Doyle (Brisbane), Just War and the Kosovo NATO Intervention
  • Sabrina Morgan-Deller (Strathfield), Jackson’s Knowledge Argument.


Ben Amos (Brisbane), Justifications for War.

Runner up

Maggie Wilson (Melbourne), Sartre’s Account of Human Nature.


Daniel Bull (Brisbane), Courage and Absurdism.

Runner up

Emily Margetts (Brisbane), A Critique of Descartes’ Dualism.


Madeline Niemann (Strathfield), A Modern and an Ancient Theory of Human Nature.

Best Philosophical Essay in an Advanced Undergraduate Unit

This prize is awarded to an established student of philosophy who is judged to have produced the best philosophical essay for the applicable academic year in either a second or third year philosophy unit.

  • Eligibility: The student must be on track to completing (or have recently completed) a philosophy major at ACU.
  • Award: The prize is a book voucher to the value of $250.


Brogan Harrison (Brisbane campus), Autonomy in Bioethics.


Hannah Lawsen (Brisbane), Individual Egoistic Maturity and its Power to Shift Society.

Runner up

Alison Drewitt-Smith (Strathfield), The Ethical Treatment of Animals.


Emma Wernicke (Strathfield), Is Semantics or Pragmatics Prior in the Theory of Meaning?

Runner up

Rajat Acharya (Brisbane), Kant and the Egoic History of Modern Philosophy.


Adalbert Imperial (Brisbane), To What Extent is Eckhart a Faithful Disciple of Aquinas?

Runner up

Emily Margetts (Brisbane), A Critique of Descartes’ Dualism.


Jonathan Hili (Melbourne), The Concept of Religious Knowledge, and Religious Education.

Philosophy award nomination and judging procedures

Philosophy staff may nominate essays in either category. Philosophy students are also most welcome to nominate their own, or another students' work. All nominations should be emailed to Dr John Quilter, Chair of the essay award committee.

Email Dr John Quilter

The decisions of the judging panel are final.


ACU offers a range of scholarships to support students during their time with us.

  • Merit scholarships are awarded to students who have excelled in some area.
  • Equity scholarships provide support to students who are facing financial hardship or other disadvantages.

The ACU Scholarships office administers all ACU specific scholarships. These are open to future and current ACU students. Applications should be submitted online directly to ACU.

Search available scholarships

Further information

To learn more about our prizes and awards, please contact:

Mrs Vasilia Tsiambazis
Team Leader (Student and Course Administration), Faculty of Theology and Philosophy
Contact Mrs Vasilia Tsiambazis

Enquiries about the National Church Life Survey (NCLS) Research Prizes should be directed to:

Professor Dermot Nestor
Executive Dean, Faculty of Theology and Philosophy
Contact Professor Dermot Nestor

Have a question?

We're available 9am–5pm AEDT,
Monday to Friday

If you’ve got a question, our AskACU team has you covered. You can search FAQs, text us, email, live chat, call – whatever works for you.

Live chat with us now

Chat to our team for real-time
answers to your questions.

Launch live chat

Visit our FAQs page

Find answers to some commonly
asked questions.

See our FAQs