Peter W. Sheehan Scholarship

About this scholarship

Established in 2008, this award commemorates Professor Peter W. Sheehan AO, Vice-Chancellor of ACU from 1998 to 2008 and his roles as former President of the Australian Psychological Society, the International Congress of Psychology and the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia. He was also made an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia in 1995 and received the Centenary Medal in 2003 for his contributions to Australian Society. This award honours Professor Peter W. Sheehan's deep commitment to the University and his professional commitment to the Psychology profession. Professor Peter W. Sheehan has demonstrated much passion about the power of education, research and psychology to improve the lives of individuals and change society for the better. He devoted significant time at ACU, encouraging students and colleagues to recognise and develop their strengths and harness their skills and experience to work for social justice and the common good.

Application dates

Open Date: Closed

Close Date: Closed

Scholarship type



  • $1,000 is available, to be paid in one lump sum.
  • There is one scholarship available.

Student type

Current Students


This scholarship is open to applicants who meet all of the following criteria as of the scholarship application closing date:

  • Citizenship: All
  • Faculty: Health Sciences
  • Course: Bachelor of Psychological Science or Bachelor of Arts (Psychology)
  • Campus: Any
  • Year level: third year (or part-time equivalent)

Application process

Apply online by clicking the button below and completing the application form. You must attach the following documentation with your application:

  • A written statement of approximately 100 words outlining how you engage with your community and how it reflects the mission and values of ACU
  • Written reference
  • Academic transcript

Selection criteria

Applications are assessed based on the strength of the following criteria:

  • Written statement
  • Written reference
  • Academic merit (completed 50 credit points in Psychology units from the Australian Psychology Accreditation Council (APAC) accredited sequence)

Selection process

The recipients will be selected by the Executive Dean Faculty of Health Sciences (or nominee), Head of School Psychology, and other representatives as deemed appropriate.

Ongoing requirements

Recipients are requested to submit a letter of appreciation for the donor explaining how the Scholarship has assisted them. The letter should be submitted to the Scholarships Office no later than 1 October each year.

Applications are closed

Have a question?


We're available 9am–5pm AEDT,
Monday to Friday

Live chat with us now

Chat to our team for real-time
answers to your questions.

Launch live chat
Visit our FAQs page

Find answers to some commonly
asked questions.

See our FAQs