Theology and Philosophy

Annual Prizes for Philosophy Students

As we all know, doing Philosophy is its own reward - right?

Be that as it may, the School offers two prizes each year for outstanding work in Philosophy. Each award is judged, at year's end, by a panel of three Philosophy staff (one each from Melbourne, Strathfield and Brisbane campuses).

Co-op bookshop logo

Both awards are generously sponsored by Co-Op Bookshop.

Most Promising Essay by a New Student

This prize is awarded to a first year student, who has shown exceptional promise as a beginning student of Philosophy.

  • Eligibility: Students must have completed a minimum of two ACU Philosophy units in their first year (the applicable year of the prize)
  • Award: The student receives a book voucher to the value of $150.

2015 Prize Winners

  • Winner: Thi Bich Tram DO (Strathfield): “Mental Content and Language”
  • Runners up:
    • Joseph Doyle (Brisbane): “Just War and the Kosovo NATO Intervention”
    • Sabrina Morgan-Deller (Strathfield): “Jackson’s Knowledge Argument”

Best Philosophical Essay in an Advanced Undergraduate Unit

This prize is awarded to an established student of Philosophy who is judged to have produced the best philosophical essay for the applicable academic year in either a second or third year philosophy unit .

  • Eligibility: The student must be on track to completing (or have recently completed) a Philosophy major at ACU.
  • Award: The prize is a book voucher to the value of $250.

2015 Prize Winners

  • Winner: Hannah Lawsen (Brisbane): “Individual Egoistic Maturity and its Power to Shift Society”
  • Runner up: Alison Drewitt-Smith (Strathfield): “The Ethical Treatment of Animals”

Nomination and Judging Procedures

Philosophy staff may nominate essays in either category. Philosophy students are also most welcome to nominate their own, or another students' work.

All nominations should be emailed to Dr John Quilter, Chair of the essay award committee.

The closing date by which all 2016 prize nominations are to be received is Friday 9 December 2016.

The decisions of the judging panel are final.