Theology and Philosophy


Conference Registration


Conference registration is necessary for participation at the conference. Registration will cover attendance at the conference, food and refreshments at the conference, and a conference pack. There is also a discount for current members of the Colloquium on Violence & Religion (COV&R).

Catholic teachers in Victoria can gain accreditation hours for attending this conference. The Catholic Education Office Melbourne has approved this conference for 14 hours of Professional Development towards Category C under the program, “Accreditation to Teach in Catholic School” (CECV). To have conference attendance recognised, Certificates of Attendance will be issued by ACU. During the conference registration process, please indicate if you wish to receive a Certificate of Attendance.

Registration for single plenary sessions are also available and accredited by Catholic Education Office Melbourne according to corresponding hours of attendance.

Registration is available online, with payment by Mastercard/Visa/credit card. Please note that all monetary values are in Australian Dollars. The Australian Dollar is lower in value than the Euro and American Dollar (please check at the time of payment for the exact exchange rate). If you cannot pay by credit card, please email

During the registration process, participants will also have the option to register for the conference dinner and field-trips.

The conference dinner is a "Tribute Dinner for René Girard (on his death)” and will occur on Saturday, 16 July, 6.30pm at the Park Hyatt, East Melbourne. It will include a 3-course meal (with drinks provided over dinner).

The fieldtrips will occur on the afternoon of Saturday, 16 July. These will occur after the morning session and will return before the conference dinner. There are 3 options for the field trips. Field trips will include lunch, transportation and cost for visiting sites. Please see the field trips page for more information. If we do not reach a minimum number of participants for one of the field trips (30 people), then we will cancel it and transfer people to the other trips (based on preference). Please indicate your preference for field trips in the registration process.

Suggestions for accommodation are available on the Practical Details page.


Visa and passport requirements for overseas registrations:

All visitors to Australia must have a valid visa to travel to and enter Australia (other than New Zealand passport holders who will normally be granted a Special Category visa on arrival).  The passport which you hold determines whether you can apply online, or if you need to lodge a paper based application.

European Union (EU) passport holders, and some other European passport holders, are eligible to apply individually online for an eVisitor visa to travel to and enter Australia.

eVisitor-eligible passports are citizen passports issued by the following countries:
Andorra; Austria; Belgium; Bulgaria; Croatia; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Iceland; Ireland; Italy; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; Monaco; The Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; Romania; Republic of San Marino; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; United Kingdom – British Citizen; Vatican City.
You are not eligible to apply for the eVisitor if your only passport is a British National Overseas, British Dependent Territories Citizen, British Overseas Citizen, British Protected Person or British Subject passport.

Electronic Travel Authority (ETA)
Passport holders from a number of countries are also eligible to apply for an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) (Subclass 601) to travel to and enter Australia.

Eligible passports for ETA are issued by:
Andorra; Austria; Belgium; Brunei; Canada; Denmark; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Hong Kong (SAR of China); Iceland; Ireland; Italy; Japan; Liechtenstein; Luxembourg; Malaysia; Malta; Monaco; Norway; Portugal; Republic of San Marino; Singapore; South Korea; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; Taiwan* (*must not purport to be an official or diplomatic passport ); The Netherlands; United Kingdom—British Citizen; United Kingdom—British National (Overseas); United States; Vatican City.

Non-ETA countries
For non-ETA countries, visas are issued from Australian Embassies and Consulates nearest to you.  We recommend you apply as early as possible.

For information on how and where to apply for a visitor’s visa to Australia, please click here to go to the Department of Immigration Website.

Please apply for a Visa as soon as possible so that you are able to register before the conference. Registrations are NON-REFUNDABLE.

Please note:
The information provided on this page is a guide only. It is the responsibility of the individual traveller to make sure they are applying for the correct visa.