Dr John Scott
BSc (Hons) PhD

John ScottSenior Research Scientist, Protein Chemistry and Metabolism Unit, St Vincent's Institute 

Senior Research Fellow, ACU

Dr Scott’s primary research interest is on understanding the molecular pathways that regulate appetite, mood and emotional behaviour in response to hormones and metabolites that signal changes in nutrient availability. His research is specifically focussed on the control of the CaMKK2 signalling pathway, which is a major regulator of whole-body energy metabolism and complex behaviour.  Dysregulation of CaMKK2 has strong links with a range of human diseases including prostate and hepatic cancers, bipolar disorder and schizophrenia.  A major goal of Dr Scott’s research is to unleash the potential of CaMKK2 as a treatment for mental illness and cancer, and he has established international collaborations with academic and industrial partners to develop new drugs that target CaMKK2.

Dr Scott graduated with a Bachelor of Science (Hons) from the University of Glasgow and a PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Dundee funded by a prestigious Wellcome Trust Prize scholarship. He moved to Melbourne in 2006 to undertake postdoctoral studies at St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research (SVIMR) and established the Neurometabolism group at SVIMR in 2017. Dr Scott is also an Honorary Research Fellow of the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health.  His group uses a wide range of techniques including biochemistry, cell biology, protein crystallography, mass spectrometry and genetically modified mouse models to decipher the role of the CaMKK2 pathway in the regulation of metabolism and complex behaviour in health and disease.


{{dat.ExternalIdType}}: {{dat.ExternalIdValue}}


{{project.StartDate}} to {{project.EndDate}} | {{project.Type}}

The logo of the ACU Mary MacKillop Institute for Health Research

Get in touch

Level 5, 215 Spring Street,
Melbourne, VIC, 3000

Connect with us

Chat with our team via social media.