The Dianoia Institute of Philosophy hosts a monthly seminar, as well as occasional workshops and conferences, showcasing leading scholarship from around Australia and the world on a wide range of philosophical issues.

Upcoming seminars

In 2021, the Dianoia Institute of Philosophy will host a monthly online seminar series, bringing in leading philosophers from around the world. Registration will be via Zoom. If you would like to join our mailing list to receive announcements of upcoming seminars, or have any other questions, please email nevin.climenhaga@acu.edu.au.

Download Speaker Series flyer (PDF, 308KB) 


Jeff McMahan (University of Oxford)
30 September 2021

Dianoia Annual Seminar in Social & Political Philosophy

Time: Thursday 30 September, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Thursday 30 September, 12:00-1:45 am (London) | Wednesday 29 September, 7:00-8:45 pm (New York)

Register now


Brian Weatherson (University of Michigan)
28 October 2021

Title: TBA

Time: Thursday 28 October, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Wednesday 27 October, 11:00-0:45 am (London) | Wednesday 27 October, 6:00-7:45 pm (New York)

Register now


Garrett Cullity (Australian National University)
18 November 2021

Dianoia Annual Seminar in Ethics & Metaethics

Time: Thursday 18 November, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Wednesday 17 November, 10:00-11:45 pm (London) | Wednesday 17 November, 5:00-6:45 pm (New York)

Register now


Past events

Carolina Sartorio (University of Arizona)
27 August 2021

Title: Causalism

Time: Friday 27 August, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Friday 27 August, 12:00-1:45 am (London) | Thursday 26 August, 7:00-8:45 pm (New York)

Download Causalism flyer (PDF. 354KB)


Elliott Sober (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
22 July 2021

Title: Scientific Realism, Empiricism, and Instrumentalism

Time: Thursday 22 July, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Thursday 22 July, 12:00-1:45 am (London) | Wednesday 21 July, 7:00-8:45 pm (New York)

Download Scientific Realism, Empiricism, and Instrumentalism flyer (PDF, 307KB)


Jennifer Nagel (University of Toronto)
25 June 2021

Title: Knowledge and Knowledge Attribution in Neural Networks

Time: Friday 25 June, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Friday 25 June, 12:00-1:45 am (London) | Thursday 24 June, 7:00-8:45 pm (New York)

Download the Knowledge and Knowledge Attribution in Neural Networks flyer (PDF, 210KB)


Timothy Williamson (University of Oxford)
27 May 2021

Dianoia Annual Seminar in Logic & Language

Title: Accepting a Logic, Accepting a Theory

Time: Thursday 27 May, 5:00-6:45 pm (Melbourne) | Thursday 27 May, 8:00-9:45 am (London) | Thursday 27 May, 12:00-1:45 am (Los Angeles)

Download Accepting a Logic, Accepting a Theory flyer (PDF, 270KB)


Karen Bennett (Rutgers University)
22 April 2021

Dianoia Annual Seminar in Metaphysics & Epistemology

Title: Going Underground

Time:  Thursday 22 April, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Thursday 22 April, 12:00-1:45 am (London) | Wednesday 21 April, 7:00-8:45 pm (New York)

Download Going Underground flyer (PDF, 322KB)


C. Thi Nguyen (University of Utah)
25 March 2021

Title: Value Capture

Time: Thursday 25 March, 9:00-10:45 am (Melbourne) | Wednesday 24 March, 6:00-7:45 pm (New York) | Wednesday 24 March, 10:00-11:45 pm (London)

Download Value Capture flyer (PDF, 244KB)


Language workshop

This event is an interdisciplinary workshop about philosophy of language, featuring a series of talks by leading international researchers.

  1. Workshop on May 2021
    Download Language flyer (PDF, 95KB)
  2. Workshop on June 2021
    Download Language flyer (PDF, 112KB)

Have a
question?

Ask
Research

Our contacts

Have a question for a specific
team? Ask the right person.

View all contacts