Sisters of Mercy Scholarship

Established in 2010 by the Ballarat Sisters of Mercy who support the Mission of ACU and wish to contribute to its work, in particular, a commitment to supporting high quality education based on Christian values and a commitment to mercy and justice.

One scholarship valued at up to $4,000 is available each year, paid as one instalment annually for the duration of the course.

  • $1,000 per annum is available for students enrolled full-time, for a maximum of four years
  • $500 per annum is available for students enrolled part-time, for a maximum of eight years.

This scholarship is open to applicants who meet all of the following criteria:

  • Undergraduate students
  • Studying at the Ballarat campus
  • In the first or second year of their course (or part time equivalent)
  • From a rural or regional area

Required Documentation
The following documents must be submitted with the application:

  • A written statement of approximately 500-800 words outlining:
    • a commitment to the Mission and values of ACU, particularly in reference to the Christian values of mercy and justice as followed by the Sisters of Mercy;
    • how the Scholarship will assist the applicant as a rural or regional student fulfilling a commitment to the ethos of the University
  • Three written references which address the above criteria
  • Evidence of relocation or residence in a rural or regional area

Selection Criteria
Applications are assessed based on the strength of the following criteria:

  • Written statement
  • Written references

Selection Process
Applicants will be shortlisted by the Scholarships Office and recipients selected by the donor.

Ongoing Requirements
The recipient will be required to submit an annual report to the Scholarships Office by 1 October each year on his/her progress and the ways he/she has demonstrated his/her commitment.

Recipients are requested to submit a letter of appreciation for the donor explaining how the Scholarship has assisted them. The letter should be submitted to the Scholarships Office no later than 1 October of each year.