Home - ACU (The Australian Catholic University)

Site Navigation

Australian Catholic University annual review 2008

Scholarships and bursaries

A key priority for the University is to provide scholarships for students. Today, students pay more for their education than at any other time in Australia’s history.

The support of the University’s donors has enabled it to remain committed to social justice and to continue to provide the transformational experience of education to as many students as possible. In turn, the University has helped students to carry its Mission into the wider world, serving the common good.

In 2008, the new scholarships and bursaries listed below joined 42 scholarships and bursaries previously established for ACU students.

2008 Scholarships and Bursaries

New scholarships and awards established in 2008 were:

  • Aloysius Morgan and Canberra Southern Cross Club Scholarships, funded by the Canberra Southern Cross Club for commencing students (Canberra)
  • Canberra Southern Cross Club PhD Scholarship at the Institute of Child Protection Studies (Canberra)
  • St Vincent de Paul Society (ACT) Indigenous Scholarships to encourage Indigenous students in professional fields (Canberra)
  • Kevin Moyle Award for Liturgy or Ministry Studies, donated by Mrs Janet Moyle Grad Dip RE (1993), MTheo (2001) in honour of her late husband (Canberra)
  • Staff Options Scholarship established by Staff Options to recognise and reward a student who can demonstrate their commitment to and leadership in disability care (Brisbane)
  • St Vincent’s and Mercy Private Hospital Wurundjeri Scholarship, established in the spirit of reconciliation and as a response to the National Apology made in Federal Parliament on 13 February 2008 for Indigenous commencing students enrolled in the Bachelor of Nursing or Bachelor of Midwifery course (Victoria)
  • Gill Family Foundation Indigenous Nursing Scholarship for a first-year undergraduate Indigenous student (Vic)
  • Karen Agnew Prize, awarded to a social work student for excellence in social work practice in their third year, established by staff and students in the School of Social Work (NSW), supported by family and friends, to honour the memory of Karen Agnew, who died tragically on an overseas holiday in July 2007
  • Prize in Science and Technology established by family, colleagues and friends in honour of the late Terry Harrison, a Coordinator of the Bachelor of Education (Primary) program at the Strathfield Campus and a Lecturer in Science and Technology, to honour his commitment to the welfare of his students and their education in science and technology, to be awarded to a student who has achieved excellent results in science and technology and has shown a demonstrated commitment to environmental issues
  • Northside Group Mental Health Services Prize (Ramsay Health Care) established by Ramsay Health Care to encourage excellence in the provision of mental health nursing care, awarded to a nursing student (NSW)
  • Northern Sydney Central Coast Area Mental Health Service Prize established to encourage excellence in the important area of mental health nursing, awarded to a nursing student (NSW).