Home - ACU (The Australian Catholic University)

Site Navigation

Australian Catholic University annual review 2008

Awards to staff

2008 Business/Higher Education Round Table (B-HERT) awards

Two of the seven Australia-wide awards were won by ACU projects:

ACU Associate Professor Marea Nicholson and Mrs Anne Forbes were awarded Best Education and Training Collaboration for the My Science program, a primary school science and technology program. They were part of the NSW based project team recognised for their creation of a sustainable model of collaboration between schools, industry and universities.

The University was awarded Best International Collaboration in Education and Training for delivering tertiary education to refugees on the Thai–Burmese border.

More on the ACU Refugee Program on the Thai-Burma Border.

Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) awards

Five Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning in the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) awards (valued at $10,000 each), formerly known as Carrick awards, were awarded to:

  • Professor Peter Camilleri, Associate Professor Morag McArthur and Dr Joanna Zubrzycki, for development of innovative and flexible programs engaging workers in Corrective and Child Protective Services in partnerships with government agencies over a decade
  • Dr Robert Compton and Ellen McBarron for developing a replicable and sustainable model that delivers empowering tertiary education to camp-based refugees
  • Laurine Hurley for commitment to improving the transition to higher education through increasing accessibility to science, peer monitoring and leading the First Year Experience program
  • Dr Judith Mulholland for international collaborative scholarship in science education that has influenced and enhanced the teaching and learning of science for pre-service primary teachers and their students
  • Dr Caroline Smith and Dr Lyn Carter for leadership in the development and implementation of an education for sustainability focus within teacher education and professional learning programs.
2008 Australian Learning and Teaching Council awards

University’s own awards to staff

Dr Tanya Uebergang from the School of Arts and Sciences (Melbourne Campus) received the University's 2008 Excellence in Teaching award.

Senior Lecturer in Education Dr Ann Gervasoni received an Outstanding Community Engagement award for her active role in the founding of the Ballarat Learning for Life project (the University in partnership with the Smith Family) and her part in the new Clemente Australia program in Ballarat and for supporting the Friendship Schools in East Timor and the annual forum for school leaders from Ballarat and East Timor.

Teaching Development Grants

A draft was drawn up for 2009 for re-developed guidelines and procedures to bring the University's teaching development grants into line with the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC), formerly the Carrick Institute.

Grants for 2008 were awarded to:

  • Dianne Cullen for Maximising quality learning and teaching for first year students studying linguistics ($2,850)
  • Dr Anne Drabble and Dr Nereda White for An infusion of confidence to facilitate Indigenous students’ use of WebCT ($5,000)
  • Donna Gronn, for Information and communications technology necessities for ACU Education students ($4,642)
  • Dr Anne Scott and Adam Staples for Partnerships in pre-service teacher education ($4,000)
  • Dr Antoinette Collins for Meeting world religions face-to-face ($2,500)
  • Judy Fromyhr for Using the medium of radio broadcasting as an effective assessment tool in an educational setting ($4,433)
  • Dr Alanah Kazlauskas for Using podcasting and listening skills development to enhance student learning ($4,942)
  • Dr Jennifer Kelly and Judith Gonda for Creating scholarly learning opportunities for final semester students through mentorship ($5,000)
  • Associate Professor Violeta Lopez, Jane Allnutt and Associate Professor Wayne Maschette for Implementation and evaluation of inter-professional learning in nursing and exercise science students ($5,000)

Other awards

Ann Downton, Donna Gronn, Dr Anne Scott, Mellita Jones and Karen McLean won a $10,000 award through the Teaching and Learning Enhancement Scheme (TALES) for the project Student-centred teaching and learning with interactive whiteboards.

Dr Michael Buchanan won the inaugural Faculty of Education Community Engagement Award for his program for children of refugee and migrant parents on the Atherton Gardens Housing Estate. The prize money was used to fund the homework club there.

Download full section on ACU staff (PDF, 110kb)