Preparation for Finance, HR and General Counsel pre-Christmas deadlines

Published: Thursday 24th November 2016

Image of a Calendar with red pen circling the 15th of the month.

The University will be closed from Monday 26 December 2016 to Monday 2 January 2017, with the Public Holidays being Monday 26 and Tuesday 27 December 2016 and Monday 2 January 2017. The North Sydney and Strathfield Campuses will also be closed on Friday 23 December 2016 which is the NSW transfer of the Bank Holiday.

In advance of these dates, there are a number of key deadlines and processes that I would like to bring to your attention to assist with your planning.

Finance

Monday, 5
December 2016

Due date for invoices to be paid in 2016 to be received by Accounts Payable

Thursday, 15 December 2016

Due date for debtor invoice requests to be raised in 2016 to be received by Accounts Payable

Wednesday, 21 December 2016

Final 2016 Payment run

Friday, 6 January 2017

Cut-off for 2016 supplier invoices greater than $1K to be received and accrued against 2016 budget

Monday, 9 January 2017

Complete entry of 2016 Management Centre creditor accruals and general journals (except salary related adjustment journals)

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Go live and commencement of data entry to the new Finance System.


Office of General Counsel (OGC)

All new matters requiring finalisation before Christmas (including legal advice and contract matters) must be referred to the OGC by Friday 25 November (for property and infrastructure matters) or Friday 9 December (for all other matters).

Human Resources

The University closure over the Christmas/New Year period has an impact on the timing of some salary payments and associated pay processing deadlines. Managers and Supervisors will need to effectively manage any recruitment activity leading up to, and during, this period.

Recruitment

With colleagues taking leave, coupled with public and University holidays, it’s a challenging time to coordinate selection committees and administrative support. Also, with the external candidate market tending to ‘slow down’ from early December to the end of January, attracting and engaging suitable candidates for ACU’s employment opportunities can also be difficult.

For the HR Recruitment Services team to deliver a timely offer to a future staff member and receive acceptance of offer prior or to Christmas, all recruitment outcome approvals should be with Recruitment Services by Monday 12 December 2016.

If you would like to discuss your recruitment planning and needs please contact Recruitment Services at: recruitment@acu.edu.au.

Payroll processing deadlines – changes for December 2016 /January 2017

To enable timely salary payment over the Christmas period, it is important that all staff and supervisors are aware of the following adjustments to the normal deadlines for the submission of salary payment documentation:

Deadlines for salary payments in December 2016 /January 2017

Pay period ending

Deadline

Salary payment date

Friday, 16 December
2016

5pm Tuesday, 13 December 2016

Wednesday, 21 December 2016

Friday, 30 December 2016

5pm Monday, 19 December
2016

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Due to the compression of the normal salary payments and associated work together with the processing of termination payments prior to the University closedown, it will not be possible to process claims received after the published deadlines, nor process any requests for manual payments.

Your salary payments – changes in December 2016 /January 2017

Pay period ending

Salary payment date

Friday 16 December 2016

Wednesday 21 December 2016

Annual Leave Loading 2016 (for eligible staff)

Wednesday 21 December 2016

Terminations and contract end payments (up to Friday 16 December 2016)

Friday 23 December 2016

Friday 30 December 2016

Wednesday 4 January 2017

Terminations and contract end payments (up to Friday 30 December 2016)

Saturday 7 January 2017

Friday 13 January 2017

Wednesday 18 January 2017

Return