From the DVC, Students, Learning and Teaching

Published: Wednesday 1st October 2014

One of the most pleasurable aspects of my role in Students, Learning and Teaching is having the opportunity to acknowledge and congratulate ACU's talented students and staff for their contributions to our University community. This month I will take the opportunity to share some recent staff and student successes with you.

Joshua Pierce - Jim-baa-yer staff member and sessional academic within the School of Nursing, Midwifery - Para-medicine (Vic) was recently awarded the Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM) Aunty Sally Goold Award. The Sally Goold Award recognises the achievements of an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander nurse or midwife who has made a substantial contribution to the nursing and midwifery profession and to the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples through their work.

The Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM) is the sole representative body for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nurses and midwives in Australia. CATSINaM's primary function is to implement strategies to increase the recruitment and retention of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples into nursing and midwifery professions.

Winning the Aunty Sally Goold Award is a great honour for Joshua, who works tirelessly in his contributions to remote and regional health as a Torres Strait Islander nurse and to his work at ACU within Jim-baa-yer and the Centre for Indigenous Education and Research.

Recent ACU achievements have also extended to the sporting field. Selectors named the 12 athletes in the Australian 21/U Netball Team that travelled to New Zealand for a week-long tour late last month. Three members of the ACU Elite Athletes Program were named as part of the team. They are Lizzie Watson, Kate Maloney and Chloe Watson.

The team was announced at the conclusion of an extensive three-day training camp at Netball Australia's Centre of Excellence in Canberra and contains 10 ANZ Championship-listed athletes.

I also invite the University to congratulate the following staff members who were selected to receive an Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT) 2014 Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

  • Dr Christine Grima-Farrell (Early Career), Faculty of Education and Arts, Strathfield campus: For inspiring students by developing innovative and inclusive curricula that advance 'research to practice' teaching approaches through building collaborative partnerships between universities and schools.
  • History Team Dr Ellen Warne, Dr Nell Musgrove and Dr Noah Riseman, Faculty of Education and Arts, Melbourne campus: For collaboratively designing a program of assessment which promotes hands-on historical research and transforms students into independent historians.
  • Dr Timothy McKenry, Faculty of Education and Arts, Melbourne campus: For innovative and inspiring teaching that fosters a vibrant creative culture for students of music composition.

These awards recognise and reward the diverse and significant contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

I would like to thank all these ACU staff members and students for their noteworthy efforts in their respective fields.


Best wishes, 

Professor Anne Cummins

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students, Learning and Teaching)