ACU names Adelaide Campus after St Francis of Assisi

Published: Monday 22nd September 2014

Australian Catholic University’s (ACU’s) Adelaide Campus will be formally named the St Francis of Assisi Campus in honour of the 13th Century Italian Saint.  


In October 2013, in partnership with the Archdiocese of Adelaide, ACU launched its newest campus in Adelaide to deliver theological education in South Australia, with courses beginning in 2014.


The decision to name the new campus after St Francis continues ACU’s tradition of naming its campuses and buildings after significant people in the Church, reflecting the University’s Catholic identity and mission.


Staff at the campus, members of the Faculty of Theology and Philosophy, and the Archbishop of Adelaide, Archbishop Philip Wilson were all involved in determining a suitable name.


Vice-Chancellor Professor Greg Craven said that St Francis is an appropriate patron for the Adelaide Campus.


“He is a relevant saint for our times. He stands in a tradition of powerful demands for social justice, which resonates strongly with ACU’s Catholic mission to make a contribution to local, national and international communities guided by a concern for justice and equity and a commitment to serving the common good,” Professor Craven said.


“Furthermore, St Francis is the patron saint of ecology and some parts of the Faculty of Theology and Philosophy in Adelaide are working on ecological theology as an area of emerging research. ACU is also establishing the Adelaide Campus during the pontificate of His Holiness Pope Francis and the University would like to align its work and spirit with him.”


ACU’s St Francis of Assisi Campus offers a Graduate Certificate in Theological Studies, a Graduate Diploma in Theological Studies, a Master of Theological Studies, a Master of Theology, and the Doctor of Philosophy, as well as postgraduate degrees in Religious Education and in Educational Leadership.


A naming ceremony for St Francis of Assisi Campus will be soon announced.


ACU is the only truly national university with seven campuses, in Adelaide, Melbourne, Ballarat, Canberra, North Sydney, Strathfield and Brisbane.