2017 Rhodes Scholarship applications now open

Published: Friday 10th June 2016

The Rhodes Scholarship is one of the oldest and most distinguished scholarships in the world. Previous winners from Australia include prime ministers Malcolm Turnbull, Tony Abbott and Bob Hawke, Justices Hayne and Heydon of the High Court of Australia, and Justice Elizabeth Hollingworth of the Victorian Supreme Court, pioneer in evidence-based medicine Anna Donald, Director General of CIVICUS Dhananjayan Sivaguru Sriskandarajah, Nobel Prize winners Sir John Eccles and Lord Howard Florey, and infrastructure expert Sir Rod Eddington.

Successful candidates will receive assistance with their travelling expenses to the UK, as well as a monthly allowance to contribute towards their living expenses whilst in Oxford. In addition, all University tuition fees are paid on the scholar's behalf by the Rhodes Trust.

The selection criteria are:

  • literary and scholastic attainments
  • energy to use one's talents to the full
  • truth, courage, devotion to duty, sympathy for and protection of the weak, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship
  • moral force of character and instincts to lead, and to take an interest in one's fellow beings.

If you know of any ACU students for whom this opportunity is relevant, please encourage them to seek further information and apply via: