2016 ACU Postgraduate Student Association national leadership

Published: Monday 14th December 2015

Professor Anne Cummins, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students, Learning & Teaching) would like to congratulate the newly elected ACU Postgraduate Student Association (ACUPGA) leadership group and thank the outgoing leaders.

The successful candidates are:

National President:
Miss Andrea Dos Santos takes up the role of National President of the Postgraduate Student Association.  Andrea is studying for a Master of Social Work on the Brisbane campus and is currently completing a research placement investigating the experiences of childcare officers in the Department of Children’s Services from the 1960s to the 1980s. Andrea is also a member of the Steering Committee of the Australian Association of Social Workers and an executive member of the McAuley United Club. In 2015 Andrea was a member of the ‘Racism. It stops with me’ working group, a student representative on the National Master of Social Work Review committee and a presenter at the Social Work Symposium held on Strathfield campus.

National Vice-President:
Two National Vice-Presidents will support ACUPGA in 2016.

Mr Abboud Munir is studying for a Master of Business Administration and Master of Information Technology on North Sydney Campus. Munir is a coursework postgraduate student. In his previous role as President of the Student Council at the Lebanese University, he worked to improve the overarching governance of the university, worked with his team on a range of committees and helped with tutoring students. Munir aims to work within ACUPGA to enhance students’ experience.

Mr Daniel (Xian-liang) Liu is studying for a PhD in Nursing, Midwifery and Paramedicine on the Brisbane campus. Daniel is a Higher Degree by Research (HDR) student. He has a Masters in Traditional Chinese Medicine majoring in Geriatric Nursing. Daniel’s research focus is on self-management programs for patients with type 2 diabetes. Daniel has worked as an assistant lecturer at the School of Nursing within JingGangShan University in China. He has a total of 12 publications and has participated in five research projects.

Andrea, Munir and Daniel take up their appointments for twelve months from December 2015 to 30 November 2016.Outgoing 2015 Leaders:
Professor Cummins extends her thanks and best wishes to the outgoing National President Ruth Dunnicliff-Hagan and National Vice-President Maria Rosario Doldo for their commitment to the ACUPGA and PGA students in 2015.