National Teaching Awards

The annual Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) program is funded through the Promotion of Excellence in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (PELTHE) program, Department of Education and Training.  There are three categories of teaching awards. Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning are presented at a series of state-based ceremonies in the second half of the year. National Awards for Teaching Excellence, including the Australian University Teacher of the Year, and awards for Programs that Enhance Learning are presented to recipients at a national ceremony in Canberra at the end of the year.

Information and guidelines are available on the AAUT website.

The key dates for 2017 are:

2017 National AAUT Awards

Internal ACU submission dates

AAUT final submission dates

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

4 April 2017

10 May 2017

Teaching Excellence Awards

8 June 2017

12 July 2017

Programs that Enhance Learning

8 June 2017

12 July 2017

All national teaching awards require faculty support from the Head of School, Associate Dean (L&T) or the Director of your unit. It is important to get this level of faculty support before working on an application.

For more information and award guidelines refer to the specific award section listed in the left-hand menu. You can also contact the Learning and Teaching Centre (awards& for general information or for feedback on national teaching award applications.