LEO Guides

How to set up a Choice activity

  1. Navigate to your unit from within LEO.
  2. Click 'Turn editing on'.
  3. Scroll down to the section in your LEO unit you would like to add the Choice activity, then click on ‘Add an activity or resource’.screenshot of the option 'Choice' from the activity picker within LEO From the options given under the ‘ACTIVITIES’ heading Select ‘Choice’ and then click on ‘Add’. In the new page that opens up you will be able to edit the settings for your Choice activity, and enter your question and its responses.

NOTE: Clicking on any of the section heading on the settings page will expand that section, allowing you to edit the settings as appropriate.  Alternatively, you can click on ‘Expand all' sections. a screenshot of the 'Expand all' option, with a red arrow pointing to it. Clicking this button will expand all of the Settings options.

  1. You will need to give your Choice activity a name, and
  2. Once you have selected your settings as appropriate, click on ‘Save and return to unit’ to return to the main page of your LEO unit, or ‘Save and display’ to attempt the Choice activity.

NOTE: More information about each of the settings is available under ‘Other settings’ section of this LEO Guide.

Some possible uses for the Choice activity include:

  • asking your students to gauge their confidence at how they are progressing through the unit's materials
  • kickstarting a discussion in class (or prior to class) with a challenging question
  • polling your students on which topic they want to review prior to the final examination or assignment
  • keeping track of changing responses to contentious or critical issues as the semester progresses.

NOTE: Clicking on any of the section heading on the settings page will expand that section, allowing you to edit the settings as appropriate.  Alternatively, you can click on ‘Expand all' sections. a screenshot of the 'Expand all' option, with a red arrow pointing to it. Clicking this button will expand all of the Settings options.

Two settings which are specific to the Choice activity within LEO, are those available under 'Options' and 'Results'.

Options

Allow choice to be updated

If you select 'Yes' for this option, your students will be able to go back into the Choice activity and change the response they have given. This option is useful for gauging your students' understanding of a topic throughout the semester.

Allow more than one choice to be selected

If you select 'Yes' for this option, your students will be able to select more than one radio button from the options provided.

Limit the number of responses allowed

If you select 'Yes' for this option, you can limit the amount of students who are able to select from each option given. When the limit is reached for any of the options given, then no more students will be able to make that selection. You can set the limit for each response next to 'Limit 1', Limit 2' etc.

Results

Publish results

The option you select for this Setting will vary depending on what you are using the Choice activity for. The options given in the dropdown next to 'Publish results' are:

  • Do not publish results to students
  • Show results to students after they answer
  • Show results to students only after the choice is closed
  • Always show results to students.
Privacy of results

'Privacy of results' only becomes available when any one of the last three options above are chosen. If you select 'Do not publish to students' then you will not be able to edit the 'Privacy of results' as by default the results will not be made available to students. The options given in the dropdown next to 'Privacy of results' are:

  • Publish anonymous results, do not show student names
  • Publish full results, showing names and their choice.
Show column for unanswered

Selecting 'Yes for this option means that when you download your data, an additional column will be added for the unanswered responses.

Include answers from inactive/suspended users

Selecting 'Yes' for this option means that all of your unit's users will be included in the responses, including those who may have been removed from your site because they have withdrawn from your unit, or been removed.