Assessment Prize Winners

2013 Assessment prize Winners

The 2013 Good Practice in Assessment Prize winners are:

Assessment in the First Year.

Winner: Dr Leigha Dark (Faculty of Health Sciences)

Dr Leigha Dark

Assessment in a Capstone project:

Winner: Dr Jane Butler (Faculty of Health Sciences)

Dr Jane Butler

Assessment in Online interactive group activities

Winners: Dr Valerie Margrain and Ms Leanne Hallowell (Faculty of Education)


The use of Online quizzes for assessment delivery

Winners: Dr Kylie Mosely, Dr Xochitl De la Piedad Garcia (Faculty of Arts and Sciences)

Kylie Mosely Xochitl

Using ePortfolios to assess:

Winners: Mr Stephen Guinea, Ms Elaine Rutherford and Ms Sharni Lavell (Faculty of Health Sciences)

Steve Guinea Elaine Rutherford Sharni Lavell

2012 Assessment Prize Winners

The winners of the 2012 Good Practice in Assessment Prize were announced on 16 November 2012, and published as:

Ideas and inspirations for good practice in assessment (PDF File, 1.7 MB)

Guidelines for implementing the 2013 assessment policy, and case studies from the 2012 Assessment prize.

These are the winning submissions in each of the six categories for 2012:

  1. diverse groups
  2. first year assessment
  3. groupwork
  4. large groups
  5. moderation and equivalence
  6. rubrics

First Year

Coral Bayley, assessment prize winner, first years

Winner: Mrs Coral Bailey Nursing

Title: HLSC110 Beginning Professional Practice: observational field visit and video

In her case study Coral demonstrates how vital academic support is for first year students. By providing early feedback on a two-part assessment task and assigning students to mentors she makes them feel supported and in control of the tasks so they can meet the unit’s learning outcomes.

Group Work

Catherine Bell, winner assessment prize - groupwork

Winner: Dr Catherine Bell Visual Arts

Title: ‘Negotiating Collaborative Creativity: art collectives as a strategy for assessing group studio-led research.’

Catherine’s case study, where students form collectives and mount their own exhibitions, clearly demonstrates her approach to innovative assessment which is developed in response to her students’ learning needs.

Large Groups

Dr Wilhemina van Rooy Vicki Bredin, winner, assessment prize

Winners: Dr Wilhelmina van Rooy and Mrs Vicki Bredin

Title: ‘The fair Test:Learning and teaching opportunities for early childhood/primary teachers to work scientifically’

Wilhelmina and Vicki’s case study describes innovative assessment which is effective in helping large groups of students to develop their English language skills in weekly tutorial written and aural work. Their assessment design provides good guidance for students and reduces marking time for staff.

Moderation and Equivalence

Winners: Ms Natalie Gamble and Team Health Sciences

Title: ‘Development of a Resource to Facilitate Cross-Campus Moderation of Assessment’

Natalie and the team from Health Sciences clearly demonstrate the research/practice nexus in learning and teaching in their case study. Their work has provided ACU with resources which benefit our students by disseminating vital knowledge regarding moderation and equivalence nationally.


Tracey Harris

Winner: Ms Tracey Harris

Title: ‘Social Work and Policy Q&A’

Tracey’s winning entry is an exemplar of how rubrics can work to clearly identify the standards of achievement of learning outcomes and graduate attributes for an assessment task. Tracey’s social work students needed to debate a policy position in a live Q&A panel, and the rubric assessed their understanding of policy and ability to respond to the audience, as well as key policy communication skills.