The Structure of the Core Curriculum

The Core Curriculum is comprised of five units:

  • two University Core Curriculum (UNCC) units that are common to all undergraduate programs (although there are variations in a small number of courses);
  • two Program Core Curriculum units that are specific to each particular course and build explicitly on the University Core Curriculum units; and
  • a Core Curriculum Community Engagement unit that is also specific to each program, serving to draw the Core Curriculum experience together and offering students an opportunity to live the Core in action.

The units do not cost extra or extend the length of the course.