Teaching criteria and standards framework

The ACU Teaching Criteria and Standards Framework provides teachers and their supervisors with clear, objective and consistent criteria that will enable their pursuit of excellence in teaching. The application of these criteria to teaching practice will occur within the context of the Catholic intellectual tradition and with a commitment to the pursuit of knowledge, the dignity of the human person and the common good.

Learning and teaching quality should be evidence-based. The following teaching criteria and evidence matrix gives examples of performance and achievements under seven criteria or dimensions related to different aspects of teaching. All academic staff can use the matrix for career planning, in preparation for performance development reviews, and in preparation for applying for promotion. The criteria are best presented in a teaching portfolio that documents achievement.

For more information about using the matrix, how it can help you and FAQs see Using the Teaching Criteria and Standards Framework.

Choose the way in which you would like to browse the Framework.

By level

Select a promotional level to view the indicative standards and evidence for that level.

Level A - Lecturer

Level B - Lecturer

Level C - Senior Lecturer

Level D - Associate Professor

Level E - Professor


This document is uncontrolled when printed