New award fosters excellence

Thursday, 27 August 2015

Isabel-Menton-Composition-Award Gregory Mayer, Professor Anne Cummins and Jacqueline O’Bryan.

ACU's inaugural Isabel Menton Composition Awards are dedicated to excellence in music. 

The inaugural winners of the Isabel Menton Composition Awards were announced on Wednesday night at Australian Catholic University’s (ACU’s) Melbourne Campus as part of the Melbourne Writers Festival. 

Composer Daniel Brinsmead has taken away the $4,000 top prize for his new choral work ‘The Call of the Winds’.

Organist and composer Gregory Mayer won the $2,000 prize for a choral work that can function in a Catholic Liturgical setting with ‘This is the Day’ and young musician Jacqueline O’Bryan took out the $1,000 prize open to any student enrolled at ACU in 2015 with her work ‘Celebrate the Day’.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Anne Cummins said as part of the celebration of its 25th anniversary ACU has inaugurated this choral composition prize to foster the production of new Australian choral repertoire.

“The prize is named in honour of Sister Isabel Menton of the Sisters of St Joseph,” Professor Cummins said. 

“Throughout her life Sister Isabel was dedicated to excellence in music through championing choral music and training generations of music teachers. 

“Over 40 works on the theme ‘celebration’ were submitted for consideration and the judges were impressed by the creativity and invention demonstrated across the three divisions of the competition. 

“The winning works will be added to the repertoire of the network of ACU choirs and represent a lasting tribute to the memory of Sister Isabel and highlight the growing tradition of choral music excellence being fostered at ACU,” Professor Cummins said.

ACU Chamber Choir Conductor Faye Dumont, ACU Deputy Head of School of Arts in Victoria, Dr Timothy McKenry and ACU Senior Music Lecturers Dr Ian Burk and Mr Roger Hillman judged the entries. 

In 2015 Australian Catholic University is celebrating 25 years of people, learning, and achievements that continue to bring about real change for communities.