ACU wins 5 ALTC awards for outstanding teaching

Thursday, 5 March 2015

12 August 2008: Australian Catholic University (ACU) has won five Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. These peer-evaluated awards, formerly known as the Carrick awards, reflect excellence within the higher education sector and are valued at $10,000 each.

All nine ACU award winners were presented their citations at the Melbourne ceremony held at Federation Square. The awards stretch across a number of ACU faculties and campuses, dealing with issues such as sustainability, accessibility to science and primary science education, refugee education and child services, making this a truly national celebration.

“These awards show the teaching standard in all disciplines at ACU is worthy of the highest praise,” said Professor Yoni Ryan, Director of ACU’s Institute for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning. “The awards recognise the impact each of our winners has made on their profession. This significant number of award winners shows that ACU is performing on par or in some cases better than the largest universities in Australia.”

“You represent the best,” Professor Richard Johnstone, Australian Learning and Teaching Council Executive Director, told recipients at the awards ceremony. “The career history of each award winner was read and judged by their peers, and the range of award winners provides a sense of impact these teachers make both locally and nationally. Their commitment to the student experience is unsurpassed.”

 ALTC winners

2008 ALTC Citation winners

Professor Peter Camilleri, Associate Professor Morag McArthur and Dr Joanna Zubrzycki 
 For development of innovative and flexible programs engaging workers in corrective and child protection services in partnership with government agencies over a decade

Dr Robert Compton and Ms Ellen McBarron
For developing a replicable and sustainable model that delivers empowering tertiary education to camp-based refugees

Ms Laurine Hurley
For sustained commitment to enhancing the transition to higher education through improving accessibility to science, peer mentoring and leading the First Year Experience program
Dr Judith Mulholland
For international collaborative scholarship in science education that has influenced and enhanced the teaching and learning of science for pre-service primary teachers and their students

Dr Caroline Smith and Dr Lyn Carter
For leadership in the development and implementation of an Education for Sustainability focus within teacher education and professional learning programs.

Australian Catholic University (ACU) established as Australia’s only Catholic, national, publicly funded university is open to all. The University empowers its students and staff with a strong sense of social responsibility and concern for the moral and ethical dimensions of their study and their professional and personal lives.