Office of the Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Greg Craven Professor Greg Craven AO, GCSG

Professor Greg Craven AO, GCSG is a lawyer, and academic, and has been Vice-Chancellor and President of Australian Catholic University (ACU) since 2008. He is an expert in public law, and a regular contributor to public debate.

Professor Craven formerly was a Reader in Law at the University of Melbourne and served as Crown Counsel to the Victorian Government from 1992 to 1995.

Before joining ACU, he was Foundation Dean and Professor of Law at the University of Notre Dame Australia, and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategy and Planning) at Curtin University of Technology in Western Australia. He also served as Executive Director of the John Curtin Institute of Public Policy.

Professor Craven has published numerous books and articles, mainly in the field of constitutional law and constitutional history. He is a regular columnist for The Australian newspaper.

Professor Craven has served on a wide range of public bodies. He chaired the Teacher Education Ministerial Advisory Group and was Deputy Chair of the COAG Reform Council. He currently is a member of the Commonwealth Higher Education Standards Panel (HESP) and the Lead Vice-Chancellor for Universities Australia on Quality and Regulation.

Within the Australian Catholic community, Professor Craven is a member of the National Catholic Education Commission and the Truth Justice and Healing Council.

Under Professor Craven’s leadership, ACU has grown from 18,000 students to 32,000 students, dramatically increased its research standing and opened a major campus in Rome. It is the largest Catholic university in the English-speaking world.

Professor Craven is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law and was appointed by Pope Francis as a Knight Grand Cross of the Order of St Gregory the Great in 2015 and as a Consultor to the Holy See’s Congregation for Catholic Education in 2016. In the 2017 Australia Day Honours List, Professor Craven was named an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia.