Ceremonial and Protocols Committee


  • Vice-Chancellor and President
  • Provost (Chair)
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research or the Dean of Research as his nominee
  • Director, Marketing and External Relations
  • Executive Dean, normally for a term of two years, in turn
  • Academic Registrar
  • National Manager, Graduations and Protocols
  • Student representative nominated by the ACU National Student Association
  • Three academic staff members, for a two-year term, appointed in turn by the Faculties other than that currently represented by the Executive Dean
  • Two external members of Senate

Terms of Reference

  1. Periodically, to review academic dress for the University, including Senate gowns, graduation gowns, hoods and stoles;
  2. periodically to review regulations governing the form and occasion for the wearing of academic and other dress;
  3. to provide advice on the form of graduation ceremonies and other relevant public occasions;
  4. to advise on protocols for ceremonial occasions;
  5. to consider matters in relation to honorary titles and make recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor and President to seek Senate approval in accordance with the Appointment of Honorary Titles: Selection Criteria, Procedure and Nomination Forms; and
  6. to consider the alignment of honorary appointments with the strategic priorities of:
    1. Research Intensification in particular: Research Capacity, Research Quality and Research Partnerships;
    2. Stakeholder Relations in particular: collaboration with Church, government, industry, staff, students, alumni, donors, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and the wider community.


The Committee determines and reviews its procedures and amends its Terms of Reference as it deems necessary. The Committee last reviewed its Membership and Terms of Reference and Appointment of Honorary Titles: Selection Criteria, Procedure for honorary Appointments and Nominations Forms on 8 November 2016.

Related Documents

Date of Establishment:
20 August 1999
Meeting Frequency:
As deemed necessary
Responsible Officer:
Executive Officer:
Governance Officer, Directorate of Governance