Health Sciences

Bachelor of Physiotherapy launched on the Ballarat campus in 2017

The Bachelor of Physiotherapy was launched on ACU's Ballarat campus in Semester 1, 2017.

In order to increase access to higher education programs in physiotherapy for students from regional areas in Victoria, students from the following regional boundaries and local government areas, as defined by the Department of Health, are given preference:

  1. Loddon Mallee (North West Vic)
  2. Grampians (Western Vic)
  3. Barwon South Western (South West Vic)
  4. Hume (North Vic)
  5. Gippsland (East Vic)

Students should submit applications through VTAC as usual.

ACU's national School of Physiotherapy was established in 2010 with the launch of the Bachelor of Physiotherapy on ACU’s Brisbane Campus. In 2011 the program was launched in North Sydney. ACU runs a national curriculum with ATARs in 2016 being 2/97 in Brisbane and 98.15 in North Sydney; the program incorporates over 1,000 hours of professional practice, giving students plenty of opportunities to practice their emerging skills.

Just as in Brisbane and Sydney, Ballarat offers cutting edge facilities including anatomy wet laboratories and physiotherapy teaching laboratories. Graduates from both QLD and NSW programs are eligible for registration with the Physiotherapy Board of Australia under the auspices of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA). As of 2016, the programs offered in QLD and NSW have accreditation without conditions. The program in Ballarat is accredited by the Physiotherapy Board of Australia for three years with conditions. Please refer to the Registration Standards for Physiotherapy on the AHPRA website.

Register your interest