Education and Arts

Looking back on the year that was

2015 was an exceptionally strong year for our two National Schools, School of Education and School of Arts, with academics receiving significant funding and recognition for their work.

School of Education

Academics from the National School of Education secured close to $1.9 million in ARC Discovery and Linkage Grants.

Professor Carmel Diezmann Faculty of Education and Arts (FEA)/Learning Sciences Institute of Australia(LSIA) worked as part of a seven-person team granted a $590,000 Discovery Grant for a project to design, test and share sustainable strategies to support teachers and students from low socioeconomic communities.

Associate Professor Phil Riley (Education, VIC) worked as part of a three-person team granted a Discovery Indigenous Award of $572,000 to identify the characteristics of schools that are helping Indigenous students to achieve their potential.

Professor Len Unsworth (Education, NSW/LSIA) worked as a chief investigator within a seven-person team awarded a $424,174 Linkage Grant to broaden the range of resources for students to communicate emotions through speech, writing and images.

Dr Jodie Miller (Education, Qld) won the Early Career Award for the Mathematics Education Research Group of Australasia.

Victoria’s Ministerial Expert Panel for Early Childhood Development appointed Associate Professor Joce Nuttall (LSIA).

School of Arts

Dr Noah Riseman (Arts, Melbourne), as part of a three-person team, successfully secured close to $200,000 in an ARC Discovery Grant to investigate the Australian armed forces responses to changing social attitudes towards lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) people. Dr Riseman was also awarded an Australian Academy of the Humanities (AAH) Publishing Award for Defending Australia, Defending Indigenous Rights: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Military Service since 1945 (University of Queensland Press, 2016) co-authored with Richard Trembath.

Dr Noah Riseman (Arts, Melbourne) was also successful on a team application for a Fulbright Specialist Program award. This prestigious award, sponsored by the Australian-American Fulbright Commission, brings American scholars to Australian tertiary institutions to promote linkages and collaborations. The successful team award with La Trobe and Monash Universities will bring American Indian Studies scholar Professor Philip J. Deloria of the University of Michigan to ACU’s Melbourne campus in March/April 2016.

Dr Catherine Bishop (Arts, Strathfield) also received an AAH Publishing Award for Minding Her Own Business: Colonial Businesswomen in Sydney (NewSouth Publishing, 2015), in addition to an AAH Travelling Fellowship. Dr Bishop was also recently awarded the prestigious State Library of NSW Australian Religious History Fellowship ($20,000).

Dr Fiona Davis (Arts, Melbourne) was recognised with the biennial AAH David Philips Travelling Fellowship for her work involving Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Dr Fiona Davis, Dr Nell Musgrove (Arts, Melbourne) and Dr Catherine Bishop were all accepted into the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Early Career Researcher Mentoring Program at the University of Melbourne.

In the Visual Arts, Dr Catherine Bell (Arts, Melbourne) received the Council of Australian University Librarians and Australian Society of Authors Fellowship ($7,500) for a studio investigation into the work of sculptor Dianne Mayo.

Dr Noah Riseman won the Vice Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award for ‘a pedagogical approach that encourages deep learning, introduces new perspectives and empowers students to participate in ongoing historical debates as active historians’.

At the Faculty level, Dr Nick Carter (Arts, Strathfield), Dr Duncan Cook (Arts, Strathfield) and Dr Chris Matthew (Arts, Strathfield) were jointly awarded the Learning Innovations Award for their ‘development and delivery of a unique interdisciplinary undergraduate field school in Rome.

Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards were awarded to Dr Jen Couch (Arts, Melbourne), Dr Victoria Carruthers (Arts, Strathfield) and Dr James Marland (Arts, Strathfield).

Professor Shurlee Swain (Arts, Melbourne) will contribute the history chapter to the Final Report of the Royal Commission on Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse.

The faculty is committed to providing students with a world-class education that will prepare them to be leaders of tomorrow. To find out more about our courses follow the links below.