Education and Arts

Inaugural School of Psychology Research Conference

The Inaugural ACU School of Psychology Research Conference was held concurrently on the Melbourne, Brisbane and Strathfield campuses on September 25.

Entitled From Mechanisms to Practice, the conference promoted research within the School of Psychology and celebrated the research achievements of staff and students.

Keynote speaker Professor Patrick HeavenKeynote speaker Professor Patrick Heaven

Among the attendees were fourth year psychology students in the honours and graduate diploma programs, doctoral, PhD and Masters students and staff from the School who shared their research in the areas of Cognitive and Neuropsychology, Clinical and Counselling Psychology, and Educational and Developmental Psychology.

The conference investigated the impact of psychological research on understanding mechanisms behind psychological phenomena and informing practice.

Keynote speakers were ACU Dean of Research Professor Patrick Heaven who addressed ideas on getting published in psychology and QUT Director of the Centre for Accident Research and Road Safety Professor Barry Watson who spoke on the role of psychology in improving road safety.

Melbourne Prize Winners - Psy Research ConferenceMelbourne prize winners (left to right: Joel Anderson, Kimberly Mercuri, Emma Grixti, Sheree Amon)

Presentation of prizes followed the various sessions and discussions.

The prizes for Melbourne were awarded to; Kimberly Mercuri, Vice – Chancellor’s award for outstanding Research Presentation who received a certificate and $1000 to be used towards conference attendance, Joel Anderson for Best oral presentation and Emma Grixti for Best poster presentation who both received a certificate and $100 co-op book voucher and Sheree Amon and Daniel Quin as Runner’s up for best oral presentation who received a Writing for Psychology book.

The Brisbane joint winners of Vice – Chancellor’s award for outstanding Research Presentation were Sophie Parham and Evita March who received a certificate and $500 each to be used towards conference attendance. Deborah Worboys was awarded Best oral presentation and Lisa Johnson, Best poster presentation, receiving a certificate & $100 co-op book voucher.

Chair of the conference committee, Dr Kirsty Balog commented on the overwhelming success of the event in building the research capacity and culture of the School.

“The quality of the research presentations was outstanding, and it was pleasing to see staff and students contribute to questions and discussion of each presentation,” said Kirsty who is a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the School of Psychology Senior Proven Researcher Team.

“The feedback has been tremendously positive, and we hope that this support will see the conference become an annual event in the School,” she said.